jump to navigation

Change August 19, 2006

Posted by Subramanya in Uncategorized.
trackback

There was a time, not very long ago,when the very thought of an automobile would put me in an ecstatic mood, when I counted Mercs on the streets of Delhi, when I mugged up engine displacements and prices of cars I would probably never lay my eyes on let alone touch or drive them. I remember this once, when we were living in Lonavla, I touched a Merc (This was when Mercs were still rare in India) and I refused to wash that hand for the next few days. I read and reread automobile magazines, caring naught for date or relevance. I filled up drawing books with vain attempts at designing the next big thing in automobiles,all of which my mother claimed looked like banana peels.Then I would go on and on explaining why it was significantly different from the earlier drawing of the Banana peel.

I read everything I could read about automobiles. About engines, about designers, about designers, about the automobile manufacturers, everything. The first thing I did when I was introduced to the internet was to visit the websites of every one of the automobile companies whose names I knew with special attention given to the Ferraris and the Maseratis of the world. I even decided that I would end up as an automobile engineer and be the next Ferdinand Porsche, Alec Issigonis or Bela Barenyi.

I even took up Mechanical Engineering.

And here I am now, sleeping fast in B slot class, Internal Combustion Engines. In the past the topic would have brought a tear to my eye, but now it just causes me to yawn. I see the powerpoint presentation on the screen and wonder when the 50 minutes are going to be up. On friday, I went to the IC Engines Lab for the demo and did not pay any attention to what was going on. Here I was in this place with so many of the things that I had worshipped for so long and the only thought that came to my mind was wishing the 50 minutes over.

It is not that I have lost interest totally in the world of automobiles. I still keep in touch with what is happening in the “industry”. I read the car magazines, the car websites; I try to catch the occasional episode of Top Gear. But it is somehow different, the passion is dead and gone. I worshipped Jeremy Clarkson, I still do… But the reasons have changed. Things have changed and I am poorer for it.

Comments»

1. Shankar - August 19, 2006

dont be so hard on yourself, it’s the system. our education system will kill any passion we have. we don’t learn any interesting stuff about engineering, all we are expected to do is answer questions like “what are five advantages of 4 stroke engine over 2 stroke engine” and seldom do prof. take us though latest tech. involved in the engines. if the classes are like ones shown in discovery or even top gear atleast once in a week, i am sure courses will get interesting and possibly learn more….. but with old generation sitting on top refusing to think new, students can only wait.

2. CB - August 20, 2006

POTA:
You’re a stud and you should continue showing signs of a stud. Don’t give a damn to any of these classes da. They mean no jackshit. In fact, I should say, if anyone derives pleasure/enjoyment from attending these classes, sorry boss, they don’t know what the subject is. Right now, what we learn in IC engines in the class is probably the same as what was taught 15 years ago! Even the slides look the same! Absolute bullshit.! I was cribbing the exact same thing as you a few days back when I was in IISc and came to know that mallikarjunappa is gonna take IC for us! Some cupper taking an extremely interesting(?) course is a catastrophe to any engineering student which should be faced by no human in life, unless he’s sinned enough.

3. Siddhartha - August 23, 2006

Thank God for Jeremy Clarkson!!!
Things that bad?

4. griffinmitchell789 - April 8, 2016

intrecci di volti, colori, amache, letti volanti, insetti e voci sconosciute. invidia, tanta, come sempre.nanche al mio CE lo staff si rilassava Click http://d2.ae/hool090730


Leave a Reply

